Not Their Area of Expertise

I received an email this morning from my boss, saying that, because I’ll be working up til I go into labor, maybe I should make a “to-do list” for my bosses or give them Tom’s phone number. So I give them Tom’s phone number and tell them that I have a to-do list for my work projects on my desk, they can use that. My boss then responds “No, I mean, if you go into labor here, we need to know what we’re supposed to do.” I was shocked. I really didn’t know what to say. Part of me wanted to tell them to boil water and fetch towels. Another part of me wanted to say “but Miss Scarlett, I don’t know NOTHIN’ about deliverin’ no babies!” But instead I told them I’d most likely be conscious in the event that I went into labor. And that it’s a slow process that takes on average 18 hours for a first-time mom (according to my OB, I’ve also heard 24 hours is average.) I also assured him that I would not be having the baby here, that I would call Tom and we’d go to the hospital.

The look of relief was hilarious.

Then I ruined it by saying “well, the doctors also recommend that you ‘labor at home’ for as long as possible without putting yourself at risk of not making it to the hospital on time. Since the hospital is just up the hill, I could probably complete an entire work day while in labor!” The panic came back. LOL

I think the funniest bit about it is that these 40-something year old men were going to lean on the expertise of my 25-year old husband to find out what to do if I went into labor til he could get here. I’ve been cracking up as I remember it every few minutes all day long.

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

2 responses to “Not Their Area of Expertise

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

