“Finish Like A Winner!”

When I was in Middle School, I had this horrible P.E. teacher who literally looked like a troll and who ran us into the ground like she was preparing us for war. I’ve seen Full Metal Jacket. I’d take Gunnery Sgt. Lee Ermey over this lady any day of the week. (Ok, so he’d be way tougher. At least he’s funny!) Anyways, she was making us do our very first Presidential Fitness Tests, so she was having us practice the mile run. She told us to run around the football field four times, but when you hit the long-jump pit in the last turn on your last lap, you let loose. You run as hard and as fast as you possibly can til you cross the finish line and you “finish like a winner.” You could run a 30-minute mile and stay out of trouble for next week if you really tried to kill apply yourself on that last leg of the race.

I’ve always kind of chuckled remembering that. I mean, not the P.E. experience. God, I’d go back and date every single ex-boyfriend of mine over and over on repeat for the rest of my life before I’d go back to one day in that P.E. class. (I’m not athletic. At all. I don’t know if that was ever obvious before.) But I smile when I think about “finish like a winner.” I’ve applied it to every aspect of my life since then. Goof off in High School, but do SO well in Junior and Senior years that my GPA gets me into the university of my choice, early admission. Goof off in college, but do really well in classes at the end of the quarter. Goof off at work, but make sure to get everything done (and done EXTREMELY well) before taking off for four weeks to raise a baby.

Well, I’m at that last leg of the pregnancy race. I’m in my 36th week or 9th month. I have 28 days left til my due date. I was in a brain fog for the past 5 months, struggling to remember the simplest of things or complete the most mundane of tasks. The past two weeks, however, I’ve been kicking this job’s butt. And today I feel great. No soreness, no lack of sleep, no anxiety. Just peace, calm, and determination. Week 36 is the long-jump pit on the side of the track. I can almost hear Mrs. Troll-Face screaming at me to pick up the pace and “finish like a winner.” I still can’t flip her off, like I’d like to do, but once I finish this race (and it’s going to be soon!) then I will know I gave it everything I had right at the end.

Wow. That’s such a crappy metaphor. She really should have taught us to apply ourselves as much as possible throughout the race, pacing ourselves, yes, but not emphasized finishing like a winner so much. Damn, Mrs. Troll-Face! Yet ANOTHER way P.E. ruins lives. Go figure. 😛

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

