Every Time I Start to Think How Grown Up I Am…

I end up calling my mom or dad in a panic and asking how to do something fairly simple. For instance, this morning, my car did not start. Which is crappy any day, but today is the day I am supposed to drive my pregnant butt 80 miles South to see my family for Thanksgiving. And my car just sat there, laughing at me. So I called my dad, freaking the heck out about what I’m supposed to do. And he asked “well, how are you going to get to work?” I, in my 100% rational state of mind, said something like “oh I’m not worried about work! I can walk to work! How am I going to get down there to see you guys?” I can walk to work. I really can. I’ve done it before. I did it today. I haven’t done it while 6 months pregnant before, which did occur to me, but I figured it would just take a few minutes longer and look super awkward. (It took about the same time as it always did and it totally looked super awkward.)

My dad says “call a mechanic”. I went on about how I couldn’t be there to wait for a mechanic, did he think I could find one that would come to me? I have no idea how we figured this out, but he got me to shut up long enough to waddle to work to call a mechanic. On my way to work, I text Tom “call my cell, it’s an emergency.” Didn’t hear back. Got to work about 15 minutes later (still on time!) and called his cell. No answer. Ok. So I Google the number for where he works, shriek something unintelligible into the phone, and the poor receptionist puts Tom on the phone. (I’m sure the receptionist wasn’t too perturbed. After all, it’s the mental health floor.) So I tell Tom my car won’t start. He asks me where I am. I said I’m at work. He asked how I got here. I told him I walked. And he was like “WHAT? WHY DIDN’T YOU CALL ME?” Um… because I could walk. And besides, I did just call you and you didn’t answer your damn phone! And I texted you 15 minutes before that to ask you to call me and you didn’t! So shuddup! Then we discussed what was going on, blah blah blah. So apparently, I’m supposed to call him if I need a ride to the house. And he’ll just leave work and come get me and take me to our house so my dad can pick me up if need be or I can drive if the mechanic can fix my car.

I Googled again to get the number of local mechanics. The very first one that popped up had “budget” “towing” and “repair” in the name of the company. I thought “Hey, that’s for me!” So I called them and they came and picked up my car keys from me at work and drove to my house and picked up my car and took it back to the shop. I call my dad and tell him all of this. We form a plan, you see, for every aspect of this process. When I should call my dad so we can figure out if he needs to come get me, how we’re going to pay for it, everything. It’s all good. Of course, I still haven’t heard back from the mechanic how much it’s going to cost and all that good stuff, so… yeah. That’s fun. And I just realized that my luggage is still in the trunk of my car, which is at their shop. So I need to at least get to my suitcase in the car. Ugh. I’ll figure it out.

But the point is, I’m not as grown up as I thought I was. I still need to call my dad and cry about every problem with my car. lol

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

One response to “Every Time I Start to Think How Grown Up I Am…

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

