I Know I Talk About This A LOT…

I know I brag on my bosses and my job a lot. I love them, so why wouldn’t I? But I received this email this morning and it made me grin ear-to-ear, so I had to share.

Alicia

 

I know often you come back to my office and chat about your hubby, your friends or family, so I really shouldn’t worry.  However, you know me.  We have such an informal office, that I just like to double check every few months that you are feeling comfortable with the work environment.  Heaven knows, I come up to the front desk enough to talk about politics, give advice, or to debate opinions on modern society or just tell war stories.  Notwithstanding, I just want to make sure that you feel comfortable in your work environment and that these discussions and/or rants are not stressful to you.  I know you have already indicated on numerous occasions (probably getting bored of it) that you really like this kind of work environment, however, I just want to double check.  As always, there are absolutely no consequences if you express that you would rather not chat about a particular topic, such as politics, etc.  If you feel uncomfortable saying something to me, you can tell(other boss).  If you feel uncomfortable about something (other boss) has said or done, you can tell me.  You will have our confidence and what ever is concerning you will be addressed.  I know this is probably far from your thoughts…if so, just consider this the every other month check in. 

 

(Boss)

Other Boss has been on vacation for two weeks, so this boss and I have been talking a good bit lately. Usually he divides his attention fairly equally between Other Boss and me. We’ve gotten a lot of work done, but it’s been pretty laidback the past couple weeks. And, apart from offering to buy a helmet for me while I’m at work (har dee har) they’ve been insisting on carrying the file boxes, climbing the ladders, and locking the door behind them when they leave me alone in the office after 3pm. They used to joke that if I died, they’d make sure Tom was taken care of. Now they insist on doing any kind of heavy lifting or other routine tasks that have the potential to hurt me. It’s totally the pregnancy. They’ve admitted it. I’ve gotten scolded for walking into the walls because I might hurt the baby, not myself (or the wall, which they used to tease me about). And while my lack of grace has been the source of much amusement for the entire time I’ve been working with them, the amusement is now tempered with a level of concern I hadn’t seen before.

In other news, Tom and I will be touring the maternity floor of the hospital tomorrow. I’m hoping to find out certain hospital policies and to check out the rooms. And their brand-new online pre-registration form doesn’t seem to be working. So I plan on pre-registering while we’re there. Every step we take to get ready for the baby, we’re both getting more and more excited. It’s so hard to believe that our due date is less than 16 weeks away. The third trimester is less than a month away.

I am so blessed to have the people I have in my life. My daughter is so blessed in her father and grandparents. I can’t wait to share this experience with Tom. 🙂

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

