Anatomy Scan – 8.5 Days and Counting!

Last week’s doctor’s appointment went well. The baby’s heartbeat is still at a steady 140 beats per minute. We had the blood draw done for the Quad Screening, which was more painful than I thought it would be. Normally I don’t even notice the needle. This time I did. And I looked like someone who’d just tried heroin for the first time, walking out of there with a huge track mark and kind of dazed look on my face. No fainting! And no clumsiness outside my usual range. Meaning, while I ran into doors and walls and tripped over non-existent shoelaces, I didn’t seriously injure myself. Win!

Tom and I will be attending our 20 week ultrasound, aka Anatomy Scan, aka *Gender ultrasound, aka *Sex ultrasound on the 23rd. We’ll be going to the hospital because their ultrasound is like way cooler than the one at the clinic. We’re super excited!

I’m also very nervous. The mood stabilizers I’m on are considered Class C drugs, meaning that some animal studies show that babies exposed to this drug had some abnormalities, but there have been no well-controlled studies in humans and the potential risks are outweighed by the benefits. This drug has been associated with cleft lip/cleft palate. I’m worried that we’re going to see a baby who will need surgery soon after birth. I’m also worried that the baby may have spina bifida (even though we haven’t gotten those test results back yet.) But I’m excited because I want to know if we’re having a little boy or girl. I want to go shopping and buy clothes and bedspreads. And there’s very few gender neutral clothing items out there nowadays and the gender neutral bedding is just plain ugly or boring. Most importantly, I want to start calling baby by his or her name! I want to stop saying “he or she” and “his or her” (and I refuse to call my baby an “it” if at all possible.)

I’ve been feeling little kicks and bubbles pretty often and pretty consistently. Which lets me know that Little One is doing just fine. Hopefully not trying to punish me for that massive piece of german chocolate cake I had for my birthday, but kicking because he or she is a happy baby. I guess we’ll see!

*There is a huge debate on Babycenter as to what we should called the 20-week scan. Some moms get their panties in a twist if someone uses the term “gender” as opposed to the term “sex”. Yes, technically it’s a scan that can tell you which private parts your baby will be born with, not the identity they will feel they fit into in life. But do we really have to freak out about this kind of thing before the child is even aware that biological boys have penises and biological girls have a vagina? I mean, REALLY? Of all the things to have a bug up your ass about, a word? And then some moms are just annoyed because it’s not just to tell you what baby’s packing down there, it’s also to check out the whole body. Thus, “anatomy” scan.

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

9 responses to “Anatomy Scan – 8.5 Days and Counting!

  • Marci

    Yay for happy baby development! I’m sure it’ll all be fine and I can’t wait for that little fetus to have a name!

  • David

    Hey, I just wanted to say that I am sure everything will go well with him/her! You have all of my well-wishes.

    Yeah some people get pretty uptight about gender vs. sex especially when used offhandedly. But yeah, considering that a newborn would have no concept of gender (or of concepts for that matter) the point is kind of moot here…Anatomy/Sex scan does have a certain ring to it.

    Also, EAT MORE CAKE!!! You have to get them started on chocolate young…you know…otherwise bad things happen? Totally fact!

    • mrsalicia

      Apparently the baby’s taste buds are already in place and working, so the baby will grow up with a taste for whatever I eat in the next few months. So far that includes a fair amount of cake. 🙂

  • Mom

    Man, I feel sorry for their kids. Talk about uptight parents…..geesh!

    • mrsalicia

      It doesn’t make them bad parents. It’s not my personal idea of what parenting should be, but it makes them difficult to talk to. Like, yes, there is a difference. Fine. But some of us just say “gender” and not “sex” because that’s just how we’ve always done it. And it has nothing to do with our political preferences, religious or philosophical beliefs, or any of that. It’s just frustrating to have a conversation with someone who gets so fixated on a single word when that person KNOWS what you’re trying to say. They need to be able to give people the benefit of the doubt and not expect everyone to be so damn P.C. all the damn time. Otherwise, no one will want to talk with them.

      • Marci

        I know a lot of people can go overboard with whatever their sense of right and wrong is, but I do think it’s important to understand the difference between gender and sex. Do people have to be unfailingly uptight about it? No. Is it important to understand the difference, and not just rely on old habits because it’s what we’re used to? A bit, yeah. Especially because people who recognize the difference between sex and gender are very much in a very small minority. I think about how to handle the gender vs sex thing a lot, and while I don’t think there’s anything inherently wrong with saying oh it’s going to be a girl because of her girly bits, it’s just important to be aware that the plans might be different, and to make sure you’re raising a kid in an environment where they’re never afraid to express who they are. So some people try to achieve that by being overbearingly neutral in the beginning, I guess, on internet babyboards. lolz to them. I bet their little girls love being princesses and wear constant pink, much to their acute disappointment.

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

