Getting it Done

Aha! The supplies came in last night. I was so excited that I immediately got down to it. I drew a grid in with a ruler and Tom’s charcoal pencil. It got a teensy bit skewed but I was totally ok with that. Then I took my canvas and Tom’s pencil in the living room and drew in my picture. It turns out that erasers aren’t so awesome on canvas. But I noticed the pencil said “washable” on the side, so I gently wiped the mistakes off with a damp paper towel. There are some smudges on the canvas now, but totally workable. I also got rid of the gridding inside the figures and have an image that I’m pleased to say I’m pretty proud of.

I woke up this morning WAY too early and lay in bed thinking about how to start the painting. I thought about the colors I want to use, how to mix them properly to give details and shadows, and decided to start the painting tomorrow. I want to hole up in our future baby’s room and have Sound of Silence on repeat (til I can’t stand it anymore) and work on it. I’m also going to need a tarp and an endless supply of water. Endless.

This is already the best feeling I’ve ever had about any art project of mine. And I have these visions of myself with paint all over some clothes I never wear anymore and my arms and streaks on my face. Basically, I want to look like Joon from Benny and Joon. And my sweet, goofy husband will come home and look at it and tell me how wonderful it is. Even if it isn’t.

The people in my life who know me best are all about me trying this. Tom, my mom, Marci, (pretty sure my dad, too), and even my little brother. These are the people who know how my attention span to projects is quite limited. My dad always used to make the same joke about my mom. She and I both have 2 or 3 unfinished cross-stitching patterns lying around. I have half-finished scarves tucked away somewhere. It took me a month or so to finish my scrapbook because I lost interest. I think I only finished it because I wanted to get all the crap off of the table. But I have fond memories of trying my hand at things, even if they didn’t get finished, didn’t turn out the way I wanted, and the ones I actually finished.

I’m optimistic! If you can believe it. But it’s true. I’m enjoying all the thoughts and things I hope I’ll learn along the way.

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

