The Art Supplies are Coming

Yesterday I checked my Amazon orders and tracked them. Both were in my county yesterday and somehow magically did not land on my doorstep. Yes I’m mad! But whatever. Shizz happens.

Anywho, I’ve been doing my homework on oil paints. It seems in this day and age that they are used mostly in impressionist art. While I do like that kind of art, especially with all the freakishly bright colors and the recurring themes of autumn or walking in the rain at night, I’m not really interested in that direction. In the Renaissance, artists used oil paints for portraits. In fact, some looked amazingly life-like. Like photographs. The colors weren’t necessarily as amazingly bright because oil paints weren’t made with artificial dyes or mass-produced, but the fact that that kind of realism can be accomplished is encouraging.

I’m not kidding myself. That amazing portrait of some noble woman is NOT within my reach. But I’ve been kicking some ideas around in my head, studying the techniques, and looking at some references for my “subject matter.” (My French teacher/academic advisor/Smarty-pants program coordinator/second mom in high school was also an art teacher. And I’d often skip photography and drop in on her class because I had already finished the 5 projects he gave us to complete in three months. So I gleaned three or four snooty art words. There was also that time in French class where she got frustrated with us and had us do impressionist paintings with dry pastels.) But I digress. It is a special talent of mine.

Back to the subject, I’ve been noticing some techniques that REAL artists use. Mainly, I have learned the power of white paint. It defines shadows, gives the appearance of reflections on water, creates light, and, as in tattoos, causes the images to pop. I would not have thought of that.

As a small preview, seeing as how I doubt this thing will ever see the light of day, I will even tell you what my idea is. For a VERY long time, I’ve wanted to get a tattoo incorporating the first line to the Simon and Garfunkel song “Sound of Silence.” For those of you who have not seen the classic American film “The Graduate,” the lyric is “Hello, Darkness, my old friend.” Perfectly describes those blissfully Bipolar moments of descent into depression. (Wow, check out my alliterations!) I’ve already got a tattoo on my neck which reads “Touched with Fire,” for those magnificent manic moments. (I’m on a roll!) Instead of making a huge back piece, I thought it might be more cathartic to paint it out on canvas. In fact, it could be entirely therapeutic. I’d be embracing my depression, making it a part of me, and also distancing myself from it so I can observe it. I can’t do such a thing with my highs because, well, I think happy art isn’t really my thing. And I’ve already got the tattoo. Aaaaaaand I could never write happy poetry. Back when I was an angsty teenager who wrote poetry.

But, that’s where I am right now.

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

6 responses to “The Art Supplies are Coming

  • Marci

    You’re cute 🙂 I hope painting is everything you want it to be, and don’t get discouraged if it’s not exactly how you pictured it the second you start. Make sure you give yourself a lot of freedom to explore how they work, and how you want things to look. And as for the painting only your depression–I started doing that with only mania, and found that I had several different pieces going at once, and they all corresponded to different mood swings. It can be freeing to explore all the facets of You.

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

