Remember What This Blog Was Originally About?

Yeah, me neither. BUT in an effort to be more on-topic, I have decided to divulge something I was going to hide from everyone. I have ordered paint supplies. Because I’m going to retry painting. It drives me crazy that I can’t dye my hair unnatural colors, tattoo my arms, paint, write novels, take photos, be a FREE person. I’m SUPER jealous of everyone who can. I’ve said that a million times, I know. But instead of whining about how I can’t do it, I’m going to remind myself why I whine and just put the whole dang thing behind me. And the leftover supplies, you may ask? Well, Tom’s an artist. He doesn’t usually do paints, but I have absolute confidence that he’ll at least find it interesting. Or I’ll donate the supplies somewhere. “Starving artists” might go to the goodwill and find these supplies and they might be exactly what they need.

Pretty sure my “work” is going to accidentally look like a Jackson Pollock, though. Or a blind impressionist. I read the novel “Girl with the Pearl Earring” and was very interested in the fact that Vermeer painted colors things actually weren’t first and layered colors to add depth and realism to his paintings. I thought “well heck, I can do that!” Uh, well, first you need to be able to paint the things before you can paint them the wrong color. And I saw the Queen of the Damned movie and was amazed at Marius’s use of color and the different movements which inspired his paintings. Like, faces with green in them. I thought “I could do that!” Well, you’ve got to be able to paint a face. I still haven’t mastered the smiley face. Or the stick figure. Just ask my husband. When I send him a drawing, he’s like “another stick figure?” And when he sends me one, it’s like “another six-pack man?” Yeah.

So, here’s to facing my insecurities! And hopefully conquering them!

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

3 responses to “Remember What This Blog Was Originally About?

  • Marci

    You can do all of those things, minus the dying your hair thing. It’s not about being good or bad, talented or not. It’s about wanting something bad enough to keep doing it regardless of your level of skill. Skill is like the last thing that happens (say what you will, but I’m still waiting) Enjoy your painting! Watch some Bob Ross

    • mrsalicia

      I was TOTALLY thinking Bob Ross. But as for the tattoos, I’ll be moving somewhere WAY more conservative in the next year or so. It gets to be about 100 degrees there in the summer. Can’t hide the arm tattoos forever. And the novel? Well… maybe one day. But yeah, I’m super jealous of your life, pretty much.

      • Marci

        That’s only getting more and more awkward. You have a good life, and should like it for its own merits without feeling the pressure of comparison.

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

