I’m Sorry!

Yikes! I don’t even remember the last time I posted on here. It’s been a bit hectic lately. (Excuses, I know. But it’s a good one!)

Tom and I went to Leavenworth, Washington to celebrate having made each other completely miserable for a magical 4 years. Yes, we’ve only been married for 5 months, but that’s a big dating anniversary for me. My longest. By 6 months. Huge deal. Anyway, we went shopping down there, trudged through the snow while drinking delicious hot chocolate, ate a few bits of authentic Bavarian foods, drank beer, smoked cigarettes, drove over the scary, scary Stevens Pass and survived, and ate the most awful Mexican food ever. Seriously, Taco Bell is more enjoyable.

The next day was the Superbowl. Meaning the closest I came to a computer all day was driving on the freeway past a Best Buy. So much beer. So much football. So awkward being the only girl surrounded by 5 boys. But I was yelling just as loud as they were. And hey, everyone was rooting for the Ravens, so all was well.

And this weekend I’m driving two hours south to hang out with Marci! First time in a few months. We’re going shopping! With Tom’s money. I’ve been given a budget, but I fully intend to stick to it. So Marci! Thiftiness, s’il vous plait.

As for the novel? Haven’t touched it in awhile. I haven’t really lost interest. Just motivation. I’m a terrible excuse for a human being. But it’s ok because… well, because I have some redeeming qualities.

Also, Tom and I are on Day 4 of mission Stop-Smoking. It’s a record. Longest we’ve ever made it is 3 days. To be honest, I really want a smoke. I’ve been using Sudoku to focus my mind on something else and biting the pen to deal with my oral fixation. I am going to be a Sudoku Ninja by this time next week. But every time I sit on the couch after getting home from work, like a Pavlovian response, I reach for a pack on the end table. My hand grasps nothing. I grab a glass of wine and think about how much better it would taste with a cigarette. I get ready in the morning and think about how I miss smoking with my coffee. And every time I get in the car, I think about how nice it would be to smoke on the way to wherever we’re going. But alas. Health concerns.

I’m coughing a lot less. I haven’t resorted to eating to cope. My clothes and hair smell better. My teeth are whiter. And if I quit now, I won’t have to in the future. But dang, it sucks.

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

One response to “I’m Sorry!

  • Marci

    Welcome back to blogging 🙂 I’m definitely looking forward to our girl time tomorrow and congrats on quitting! Keep with it, ma’am! I’m rooting for you.

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

