Relationships – The Good, the Bad, and the Bizarre (Part 3 of 3)

Now, for the exciting conclusion of (see above title) blog posts!

You’ve read about how I got good/bad relationships with pretty much everyone. Well, there are a few relationships in my life that make absolutely no sense from the outside. Remember when I said I had nothing in common with Marci, Victoria, and Alex? That’s what makes the relationships bizarre. Few similar interests, few areas of commonality, and yet it just works. It also results in strange interactions.

With Marci, especially living so far away from each other, 99.9% of our interaction is via text or facebook. Once we actually spoke on the phone. It was kind of a big deal. But when we’re together, usually there’s an air of pretend snobbiness (to mask the real snobbiness at times), wine/music/video games/movies/tv shows are involved, and the conversation is kind of like this tennis match. It’s hard for our guys to get words in between us. And there’s these random periods of “Oh my God!” and excitement. Usually over something like clothes or something stupid someone else did. And when the conversation is serious, there’s a lot of nodding and “mm-hmms,” like a normal relationship. But the serious conversations are odd all on their own. Top secret, too, so don’t ask! (Yay for vague-blogging!)

Victoria and I have always gotten along. We’ve had bitter political arguments and stayed perfectly calm and loved each other at the end of it. Usually I get annoyed with people while arguing with them. But Victoria does it in such a calm way, it’s impossible to react negatively. She gets me the strangest gifts that I love. Pirate flag, purple rubber ducky with devil horns, a purse that says “F*** you!,” a knock off Dolce and Gabbana purse… just to name a few. This Christmas she sent me the most delicious caramels I have ever tasted. Different. But appreciated. Our interactions are also 99.9% digital due to (you guessed it) massive distance between us.

And Alex, with whom (prepare for a noticeable pattern) 99.9% of communication… you get the idea. We both wanted to be journalists… sort of. I wanted to be a photographer and because Art Major was SOOOO not my bag, I decided to try Photojournalism. I took only one journalism class and I HATED it. Never never never again, I said. But Alex and I met sort of/kind of through that class. There was this guy named Joe. We met in Philosophy class. One that was joined with a particular journalism class we were both taking. Joe and I liked each other but I was in a relationship. I went to visit my parents one weekend and when I came back, he had a girlfriend! Alex. One day she got to Philosophy a little late and couldn’t sit next to Joe. I was relatively close because the bastard (whom I love and adore today) sat close-ish to me. So Alex sat near me. And I was like “get to know the enemy!” And the weird thing was, I liked her. A lot. Alex makes a lot of weird sounds and has weird interests. So being around her at all is a bizarre experience.

Speaking of Joe, that is my most bizarre relationship of all. You’ve read the Alex story, and I’ve mentioned the history with Joe before. But as a refresher, we kissed, we decided we didn’t want to date, we became friends. Good friends. With no awkward at all. Not even the slightest attraction left over. And Joe himself is just the weirdest person I’ve ever known. Prone to random dancing and spaz attacks, to doing ridiculous impressions, saying really embarrassing things at the top of his lungs, moving to Washington from Hawaii, and being an English-Philosophy major. There ya go. He also has a blog called “The Bad Brew Review.” (Hi, Joe! Love ya!) Check him out!

Now Tom. I wouldn’t say our relationship was typical, but I wouldn’t say it was bizarre, either. We have a LOT in common, live in the same house, and almost never have strange conversations. Stupid ones, yes. Conversations we wouldn’t want the politically correct or religious or intelligent people to hear. Conversations that warrant the “we’re so going to Hell” exchange. We both dress normally, speak well, have decent enough grammar and spelling skills, and like to eat/sleep/drink/play with kittens. We got married at 22 and 23 and we both want kids. I guess that in itself is strange.

But all in all, most of my relationships are pretty normal.

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

