Stuck in a Rut – Arguments For and Against Fashion Revamp

My rut is my fashion. Or whatever you would call my wardrobe. I keep seeing all these fashion bloggers with their Zooey Deschanel-esque outfits and I turn green with envy. Green as their peacoats or tights or tops or skinny jeans. Green seems to be the color. Anyway, I adore Ms. Deschanel. And her  sister, Emily. Who wouldn’t? They’re both stunning. And Ms. Emily Deschanel is a total woman-figure role model. She’s got to be about my dress size. And she’s stunning! More women ought to take a page out of her book. But anyway, back to Ms. Zooey.

The only thing that really deters me from going out and thrifting as many Zooey-inspired clothes as I can lay hands on… is that label: hipster. I know people (person, cough) who can dress in a hipster-esque fashion without being annoying and “I dressed like this before it was cool.” If it was your personal style before everyone else dropped in on it, that’s kind of the definition of hipster… but if you’re not all about how it was your style first, you get to be an actual original in my book. Not a hipster. And it’s not your fault, person, that everyone else glommed onto it. And now we go back to me. I also do not know how this style would look on me. I’m not exactly Miss Bright Colors. It might be leftovers from being all angsty and “rocker chick” in high school, but most of my clothes are black. Or gray. Or white-ish, cream-colored. I have some blue and some purple, too. And maroon tights! (Did you see my guest blog post???)

My current strong desire is for a pastel pink pencil skirt and a black button-down blouse with 3/4 sleeves. I would wear it with pearls around my neck, and a smart little pair of heels. And I want to put my hair up in a ponytail with a matching pastel pink bow. I know, I know. I’m seven years old again, but with heels and pearls. But it would be so cute for the office! But try finding a pink pencil skirt in this town. Sigh…

Yet another reason to not go all hipster is that some of the prints just wouldn’t fly with me. They look great on some people, for sure. But I have a much more muted taste when it comes to prints.

BUT, there are also counter-arugments to these reasons stated above. For one thing, I love vintage style. I’ve seen some adorable 20’s dresses on “hipsters.” The silhouette is flattering and I even love it on my figure. And I can’t help but secretly hate everyone I see wearing these dresses.

Polka dots! Another reason. When I was a teenager, I was staunchly against them. And then one day, I just wanted polka dots. I have a work blouse (black and white) which is rather cute with polka dots. But it’s a little… mature, I guess.

In addition, I secretly want glasses. Really cute, small frames. In an interesting color. Like blue, to offset the pretty pink and the black. But I have really good vision. It’s just plain annoying to have glasses when you don’t need them. And I’d probably accidentally crush them. The point is, glasses are making a comeback. They’re just as much accessories as bracelets and purses.

And yet, next week I’m going to want to look like Amy Lee. I lack consistency. Today, I want to be the sassy, young, pretty paralegal. Soon enough, I’m going to want to be pinup goth with a professional spin. And that’s why I’m just a pocketful of sunshine. (Go ahead, you know you want to sing it!)

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

2 responses to “Stuck in a Rut – Arguments For and Against Fashion Revamp

  • Marci

    Dress the way you want to, and don’t let lables hold you back. But that may just be the uber hipster in me talking 😉 I think you’d look rocking in some patterns and I might kidnap you and take you to the big city where we go shopping for patterned green clothes and pastel pink pencil skirts.

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

