Thanksgiving, Scrapbooks, and Violins

I was excited for the Thanksgiving meal with my immediate family, including in-laws. So, when it all went well, I was psyched. Everyone got along (as usual), the food was amazing, watched The Godfather and football, and I got to spend time with my dearest loved ones. And my husband! Our very first married Thanksgiving. He seemed pleased as well. We did NOT go shopping on Black Friday. No particular death wish. We did eat leftover turkey sandwiches and pass out in food comas. It was nice.

Then Saturday and Sunday, Mr. S had to work. He works 12 hour days. So I was home for two whole days all by my little self. Flashback to post “Trying My Hand at Something New.” I mentioned that I was beginning my own wedding album scrapbook. Well, I got fed up with it a few weeks ago and hadn’t touched it until Saturday. I wasn’t even halfway through. But I had the photos in the order I wanted, it was just a matter of picking out paper and little accent-y things, and pasting them down. I finished it on Saturday. I am actually quite proud of how it turned out! Not as pretty as others would have done, but well enough that it makes me smile when I look through it. I even included several pictures of the lost friend. There’s no sense in pretending she wasn’t there or that I don’t care about her. In fact, forcing myself to look at those pictures and remember the whole experience brought me a sense of peace with what happened. Of course, I did have a bit of a breakdown and poor Mr. S had to listen to me cry for an inappropriate amount of time. I blame the wine. But NOW I am at peace.

And then, I figured out how to appropriately tighten the bow for my violin. I’m struggling so much less with hitting the right strings. Also, I am making progress with hitting the G, F#, and E on the D string. I can hear a scale easily, having been in band for 8 years and doing scale after scale after scale ad nauseaum. So, I know when the notes are right or wrong when I do the ascending and descending scale notes. I’m hoping to move forward in the book with Mr. S this week.

In honor of Thanksgiving this month, I’ve been doing the one-thing-I’m-thankful-for-each-day thing. The last day, I’m going to be thankful I have done it and won’t do it anymore. It’s hard to keep listing things! I have SO MUCH to be thankful for, but dangit, there’s only so many one can list or think of after awhile! The thing I’m most thankful for is love. It’s held me together and helped me overcome obstacles, especially lately. I’m also thankful for forgiveness and second (third/fourth/fiftieth/hundred-thousandth) chances. I’ve written people out of my life in the past, but only when I didn’t truly love them. And I know it’s early, but my New Year’s Resolution this year is going to be extremely cliche and also very important: to let that which does not matter truly slide. I need to work on my emotional connections and if I’m not constantly on the offense, maybe they’ll do much better.

It is with optimism that I end this blog post.

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

