Musings on the Local Election

I live in Washington. Not exactly the place I want to live in forever. But this past election, my state voted to legalize marijuana and gay marriage. I consider both of these huge leaps in the evolution of our country and as people. Mr. S and I will probably end up either in the South. And it’s occurred to me for the first time that I will be living in a place where these things aren’t legal. And that makes me really sad. If I was a lesbian, I would want to be able to marry the woman I loved. If my children are gay, I would like them to be able to marry the person they loved. These are two things I feel very strongly about. I think people are too narrow-minded when it comes to these issues.

But I do have hope. I think, eventually, the entire United States will have grown past the somewhat Puritanical religious fervor and move on to accepting people no matter what their sexual orientation. I also think, eventually, they’ll realize the fabulous tax benefits of marijuana.

It will take a long time. But I have faith. I believe in God and I believe he’d want us to treat gay people the same as heterosexuals.

These two issues, and being farther away from immediate family, are the only regrets I will have about moving, however.

I do not consider myself a liberal. But I can’t see why the religious Right is still the guiding force in Republican politics. Just because the Democrats believe in this stuff doesn’t mean the Republicans MUST oppose these ideas. And hardly anyone leans religious Right anymore.

Another thing I hope for is that the Republicans come around.

Maybe one day.

By the way, I hate discussing politics.

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

2 responses to “Musings on the Local Election

  • miss_stripes

    Hey Girl, I hope you know, despite still not knowing exactly everything that has been going on, I’ve been sending you good thoughts! And, I really admire your honesty with this post. Keep on chuggin forward, Mrs. Alicia, because there are lots of good things headed your way especially when you’re honoring your true self & feelings.

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

