Small-town Life

Because I had almost no time to settle in with my DSLR and take pictures, all of the following were taken on my little 2004 Sony Cybershot.

   

This weekend, Mr. S and I did everything we said we would. Saturday we spent the early afternoon shopping, went to dinner and then to Wreck-it Ralph. Dinner was ok, but the movie was wonderful. I really enjoyed that. And yesterday we got completely lost in British Columbia. We made it home in one piece. So all is well with that. After we got home from Canada, we watched a football game and then The Sopranos Season 3 on DVD. It was a lot more than we normally do over the weekend, but it was very relaxing.

The pictures you see above are of my little town. In the very last photo, look at the little red brick building, partly obscured by the trees. That’s where my office is. These were all taken in the same half mile stretch. I’m not going to say I’m really proud of them. They’re ok. Not anywhere near my best work. But they’ll suffice. I can now stop saying “I need to take pictures of trees.” Clearly, I don’t. 😛

This small-town lifestyle is starting to get to me. I do really enjoy the tight-knit little community thing, but I’ve never really been a small-town girl. I lived in the middle of nowhere until I was 11, but my brother and I didn’t go to school there. We went to school about half an hour away in Huntsville, a larger city in the South. And then we moved to a suburb about half an hour outside of Seattle. While I’ve always loved and connected with the town vibes, I feel a little like I’m just treading water. My career isn’t going to take off here. My husband is never going to get the education he wants here and our children would not have the best life we could possibly give them if we stay here. Granted, our plans to move have absolutely nothing to do with the size of the town, but our hope is that we can get into an area big enough for both of us, and our future children, to succeed. To grow. To experience new things.

But I love my job. I love my house. I just feel that I am growing a bit restless.

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

