Trick or Treat Part 2

As I said I would, I am posting pictures of Mr. S’s Devil costume.

   So, as you see, we did have a bit of fun. You can also see that Mr. S’s “devil face” kind of looks like The Undertaker’s pinfall face (see second photo). Just without the tongue, thank goodness.

I was sitting on my lazy butt watching Hellraiser last night and making Mr. S take door duty. He was pleasant and not protesting much, really cute with the kids. He’s always cute with the kids. But then I got to thinking about his history. He grew up off a backroad state highway in pretty much the middle of nowhere. He’d told me once that they’d go into other neighborhoods to trick-or-treat. They only have three other neighbors where they lived. So I asked him “have you ever answered the door for trick-or-treaters before?”

“Nope,” he said. “This is my first time.” Then he got this smile on his face. I don’t get to see this particular smile very often because it’s rare that Mr. S experiences something new. This smile said “I’m not disappointed” and “it’s exactly what I wanted.”

Sometimes, gentle readers, growing up doesn’t have to be such a bad thing. It can still be full of new and exciting experiences (aside from the typical marriage, babies, house and other exciting things that happen every day to people). We dress in costumes and decorate our house because we missed the feeling we got as kids. We’d get so excited about Halloween. But last night, I learned that it’s not about me experiencing that feeling anymore. It’s about giving those kids the best experience we can. And hopefully one day, they’ll do the same for the children who come after them.

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

2 responses to “Trick or Treat Part 2

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

