Trying My Hand at Something New

I mentioned before that I am terrible at crafts, right? Just awful. My sewing would make Betsy Ross cry. My scrapbooking in the past has left a lot to be desired. My knitting is a one-stitch wonder. (Literally, I know how to do one kind of stitch. And it’s not wonderful.) My goes at paint-by-numbers, painting, latch-hooking, etc have all been pretty miserable failures. But I get on these binges where I try to do something, quickly lose attention for it, and never pick it back up again. My dad says my mom is the same way. But my mom made a fabulous scrapbook for my grandmother for her birthday or Christmas or something. My grandmother isn’t exactly the most sentimental in reality. She has this habit of saying “thank you” in a way that makes you feel guilty for the thought. She’d prefer pajamas or purses or shoes or suits or… well, you get it. But my mom always has that kind of thought.

Well, back to scrapbooking.

I don’t have a wedding album. My mother-in-law is making a scrapbook for us and my maid-of-honor was making one. But I don’t have anything to look at right now. I don’t have anything to sit with in my lap and look through. I don’t know where everyone else is on theirs or any other details… So, I’ve decided to hold my breath and make a scrapbook of my own. My mother-in-law makes scrapbooks. All. The. Time.  My maid-of-honor is the most talented crafter I’ve ever seen. I know mine isn’t going to be anywhere near as good as theirs. But I want to try my hand at it. And if it goes south on me, then perhaps I will have one or two more to keep. Books that look nice and professionally done. I don’t know. So much is up in the air right now.

I’m not feeling depressed. Just restless. And I want so badly to have something to show my children one day. I want something I can be proud of. There’s a lot of things I want to do. I want of non-material things, too.

Goodness, this post seems depressing. Let’s just say, I’ve decided to try to make a scrapbook and I have hopes for it. Not high hopes for my own. I can’t wait to see what the other ladies can do. Maybe I’ll get to see those before I throw mine out the window in frustration. Haha 🙂

I need something to entertain my mind or my hands right now. I can’t sit still for too long. I’ve been sitting still, apart from work, for far too long. I’ve been feeling sorry for myself for too long. I’m ready to have something to look forward to. So dangit, I’m going to go it. Please wish me luck!

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

One response to “Trying My Hand at Something New

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

