Sound of Silence

Hello, readers.

I’m sorry I haven’t posted anything in awhile. There was just a massive rush of stuff that kept me from really having anything to say. I don’t have any pictures to post today, either. But, I’ll go ahead and give you a summary of the weekend for which I had such high hopes.

Earlier Saturday, I discovered that I needed a new winter jacket, I wanted a new purse, and I desperately needed new jeans. So we went to Ross. Ross is really hit or miss, but I found an adorable Guess purse for $23, a Tahari wool jacket (not a pea coat) and a pair of jeans. I don’t remember the brand name. Anyway! I got all of this at the price that the Tahari jacket would normally cost. It was quite a win. Then Mr. S and I stepped into the Best Buy down the street and purchased Evil Dead and Evil Dead 2, Star Wars 4-6, and the Sopranos on Blu-ray. I must say, I don’t recommend the original Star Wars on Blu-ray. Everything is in such good detail that all the aliens and sets look completely fake. It was fun to reminisce about the movies I so loved as a kid. (Granted, the remastered versions are what came out when I was a kid, but I loved them. My cell phone is actually a Droid R2-D2. My father is a bit of a sadist.)

Then Mr. S and I went to visit Joe and Ari. We ate at a restaraunt which we’d never been to before. We bought meat pies and we talked about work, about relationships, and caught up a little. It was very pleasant. Then we went back to their apartment, which is the cutest thing in the world, by the way. We had rum and cokes and talked for 4 hours. We dicussed relationships, movies, philosophy, all sorts of stuff. It was the best conversation I’d had with someone other than Tom in a LONG time. Everyone brought something intelligent, amusing, and discussion-worthy to the table. Because I’ve been out of university for a good little chunk of time, I was craving this kind of discussion. It was absolutely everything I’d hoped it would be.

Over the course of 4 hours, we had only 2 small rum and cokes each. Seriously, they were like single shots, 1 part rum and 3 parts coke. So then, around 11 pm (the last sip having been around 9:30) we left and arrived home safe and sound. We then stayed up and watched one episode of something, got tired, and went to be around 1am.

The next day, we went and visited Mr. S’s mother and father… and grandmother and grandfather because the grandparents are leaving for Arizona for 3 months in a couple of weeks. Have to put in some face time with the relatives, you know. Then Mr. S and I came back and enjoyed a lazy Sunday, watching the First Season of Sopranos on Blu-ray (amazing) and drinking red wine.

On Monday, I went to work. Monday night, I came home and had the worst experience of my entire life. Can’t go into detail, in case that someone should read this. I don’t want them to think I’m using the situation to garner pity. But also, in the spirit of not being overly vague, I will just tell you that there was a huge fight, I was told I was a huge disappointment and the biggest problem of that person’s life, drinking was involved on that person’s part, that person is mentally ill, and I reacted as best I could. By hanging up the phone. Twice. And remaining calm. I will also tell you it has nothing to do with Mr. S. The experience cast into perspective all the things I had been concerned about for years. It finally prompted this person to get the help he or she needs. And I’m proud of that person. And I still love them, no matter what.

I had to grow up really fast. By 12 I was getting my brother on the school bus and back home. At a much younger age, I knew things about adult life that I would learn about later in a classroom in High School. And while this may have caused some damage, I have become stronger. I flatter myself to think that I can persevere through difficult things, I can remain level-headed in a stressful situation, and I have the ability to solve problems. I have also become someone who forgives easily. At least, when there’s an apology given. If not, I tend to get over things anyway, it just takes forever,

And so, there is my weekend. I do plan on posting some pictures of the jeans and jacket that I bought on Saturday. They’ve been doing amazing things for my self-confidence and for keeping me warm. This dang office I work in is always freezing! Happier posts are soon to come!

P.S. Sound of Silence is my favorite Simon and Garfunkel song. So before its time. I relate to it because of the darkness it talks about. Plus it’s a great title for a post which discusses having been silent for awhile. Right?

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

