Insert Cliche (No Photos)

“You have to get back up on that horse and try again.” Who in the American-English-speaking world hasn’t heard that phrase? I hate cliches. I use them so often, it makes me feel like a hypocrite. But they’re just so applicable! Insert my explanation… HERE:

Last weekend, we know, was not so good. THIS weekend, Mr. S. and I will be trekking up north 30 minutes (and by trekking, I mean getting into a car and driving. “Trekking” is a much more interesting verb than “driving.”) We will be visiting some friends from college. Well, my friends… friend… Ok, story time!

I met Joe freshman year of university. We were in the same Freshman Interest Group, which is 2 classes and 1 seminar. He was studying Philosophy and I wanted to be a photojournalist. So, there was a Philosophy 114 class and a Journalism 109 class in this particular FIG, as we will call it. We were both waiting outside the classroom before Phil 114. I was reading the latest in the Sookie Stackhouse series and he was looking at me from about 10 feet away. He asked me what I was reading. We started talking.

Later on we trifled with the whole “do we really want to date” thing and concluded no. No, we didn’t. We were much better as friends. And we’ve managed to stay that way. We haven’t exactly always been able to REALLY keep in touch. But every time we met for coffee or something, we’d talk about everything like we’d never lost a step. Except the whole “wow, that’s new!” thing. ANYWAY… I met Mr. S., we fell in love. Joe met Ari and fell in love. They’re adorable. I met Ari at my wedding. And then we decided we needed to spend a night drinking. All of us together. So that’s the plan for this weekend. And why not? We’re all between 22-23. Recent college grads.

Mr. S. and Joe are very similar. They’re very dorky people. Both prone to breaking out in song or dance or both in public. Neither one with an off-switch. Can be problematic. Makes for great entertainment at home, though. But they have such different interests and different ways of carrying themselves. I don’t worry that this won’t be fun. You see, that’s life. You have to roll with the punches and “get back on the horse” and keep that optimism.

Unless you’re Christopher Reeves and can’t get back on the… oh, that’s a little dark. Sorry. I have a dark sense of humor.

Point of the post: Try, try, try again. (ACK! Another cliche!) Tomorrow, we’ll go out to dinner and back to Joe and Ari’s place for drinks and conversation. And I’m excited. Not the least bit apprehensive. I could stand to have a little fun. Heck, we all could.

In the meantime, Mr. S. and I are watching an independant film called “Lo.” Easily, the best independant film I have ever seen. I highly recommend it. Perfect for Halloween if you want horror and funny without it being too much of one.

Have a nice weekend, everyone!

About mrsalicia

I am a Paralegal at a small criminal defense and personal injury firm in my small town. I graduated from Western Washington University with a BA in Political Science and Philosophy. I have my Paralegal Certificate, as well. I write a blog in my spare time. I am married to a wonderful man and recently gave birth to a beautiful little girl. View all posts by mrsalicia

Comments? Questions? Concerns?

Niquefornever: Everything In Between

Thoughts and adventures of a mom and mrs

The Glittered Pterodactyl

this is an evolving to do list, mostly

The Stuff of Legends

Personal Musings and Objective Critique of The Legend Of Zelda.

Dorktasm42

video games music comics & two dorks

MooseInChartreuse

So there's this Moose, right....

